Developmental Psychology

National Executive Officers:

Chairman:                      Dr. Esther Foluke Akinsola

Vice-chairman:             Prof. Grace Adejuwon

Secretary:                       Dr. Adejumo

Treasurer:                      Rev. Sr. Basil Nwoke

PRO:                               Dr. Chidozie Nwafor

Grand Advisers:           Prof. Kayode Oguntuashe

Prof. Regina Eya


Matron:                          Prof. Funmi Togonu-Bickersteth

What We Do

  1. • Compile a register of psychologists accredited to practice in Nigeria
  3. • Advocate for a legal framework to favor the practice of psychology in Nigeria
  5. • Encourage the practice of psychology in applied settings
  7. • Public enlightenment and behavior change communication for national development
  9. • Advocate on subjects that are relevant for positive orientation for positive change and human development
  • • Collaboration with appropriate regulatory organizations to develop curricula in psychology that meet national development needs
  • • Promotion of a mentorship scheme to build capacity of junior colleagues in research and practice
  • • Ensure strict adherence to the code of ethics of the discipline of psychology
  • • Develop partnership(s) with other disciplines and organizations to improve humanity and career status of members
  • • Assist leaders and public service holders with relevant evidence based information on human behavior to guide policy formulation and implementation
  • • Encourage the development of the technology for psychological assessment and testing
  • • Promote an Africa-wide network for the promotion of the science and practice of psychology
  • • Prescribe quality control standards for psychology education and practice in Nigeria